1st Draft

Draft-CollageOur big project is to create a collage in this unit on Photoshop. My collage is one to promote that there will be a new doula certifying option for people to choose. Since we aren’t quite ready to start holding trainings yet, I chose to do more of a “teaser,” by adding the words “coming soon.” My main thought is that this piece could be replicated with more specifics for each training as they come up.

My main inspiration for this collage was the families that I have been serving lately. They have all been fabulous to work with, and I wanted to document them. I had the privilege to catch both of these moments myself. I specifically wanted to show a father in my collage, because dads often complain that they aren’t represented in doula websites and other media. I wanted this piece to show that B.A.N.I. doulas will care for the dads as well as the moms. And this photo is wonderful to me because Dad is obviously very smitten with his new daughter. The photo of the mom holding the baby feels like a perfect postpartum photo to me. Mom has clearly just finished breastfeeding, which we can tell by the pillow at her belly. But she is just so in the moment with her baby, really taking the time to bond. This photo also lets the viewer know that B.A.N.I. will be offering postpartum doula training, in addition to birth doula training that all organizations offer. The large background photo I used of a pregnant belly is actually mine. A friend took it at my baby shower. It’s one that I love very much.

I chose a more scripted font that was available in Photoshop. For my final piece, I will likely find something different on the web. For doula media, I prefer to use scripted fonts that are still easy to read. Doula work is so sensitive that a soft, flowing scripted font feels appropriate. I also chose two different shades of purple. Purple is often called the “Doula Color,” because many doulas claim that purple is their favorite color. This is completely anecdotal. I have read that purple is a “wise” color, and in advertising can promote this feeling. I chose each shade of purple to balance the black and white hues in the background photo to increase readability. I also changed the leading in the bottom section, as the default made the lines way too far apart. In a former job I was a typesetter, and so these are things that I am always thinking about.

With each of the two small photos, I wanted them to match in style, so I added the “stroke” element and a drop shadow. I love that each of the parents is holding their baby in a similar way, and they are facing in ways that I could create a “frame” with them both facing toward the most important words on the collage.

5 thoughts on “1st Draft

  1. Tyana, thank you very much for the collage. You can tell you are passionate about to the point of literally adding yourself to the collage with the picture of your pregnant belly. The subtle flowers behind the script also add a very nice touch. I will be honest when I say I had to look for the definition of a doula and I have two children. Some expectant parents may not know what a doula is. If you are intending to gain them as clients, you may want to expand or reword this a bit. Lastly, the definition I looked up on http://www.dona.org stated “…mother before, during and just after birth;….”. I mention this because the photo of the mother appears to be after she has gone home. This is a bit confusing to me since it appears to convey that you will be there with the family after they have left the hospital but that seems to be inconsistent with the definition. As someone who has worked in the medical field for almost his entire adult life, I just want to say thank you for all you do. It must be a very rewarding job to see the beginnings of life.

    Like

  2. Hi Tyana! I really love the graphic elements you chose to use in your advertisement. First off, the layout of your design works well with the images you selected. The strongest area of your design is the photoshop layers you used to add add the background affect with the pregnant stomach.

    Since Doulas are being introduced more so now into the birthing process (my sister is a labor and delivery nurse and she told she’s starting to see more doulas practicing in hospital settings), it’s important to advertise doula practices.

    One suggestion I have is to include a picture of a doula in practice to your advertisement. If I were a prospective client, I would want to visually see how they differ from labor and delivery nurses. The images you selected are beautiful, however, seeing the doula may enhance your advertisement.

    Another suggestion I have would be to add a stroke to the “Doulas Make a Difference” so the text is easily readable. I hope my suggestions help you in finalizing your advertisement!

    Like

  3. Samantha Lau

    Tyana, I absolutely love your choice to make the background image black and white. It lets the readers eyes go to the top layer images first, and then focus on the belly. Choosing colors is an important step in any design, and I think that your choice of purple is one of the strongest design elements you have in your collage, and does convey that wise, trusting feeling.

    I definitely agree with you on using a different scripted font, and like the idea of going with a soft script for the reasons you listed above. I also have some trouble reading “Doulas Make a Difference.” I would recommend trying to create more of a contrast since the black and white image gets brighter as you move from right to left (maybe add an opaque banner behind the text or a stroke like Hope suggested). Also, the design seems a bit unbalanced to me because there is an empty space at the bottom right of your collage, but nowhere else.

    Last, I’m curious as to what the new certification is. The collage doesn’t give any direct information on it, just that a certification is coming soon. It may be nice to show a photo of a doula caring for a mother and/or father and their baby that represents what the new certification is as well as a short description of the new certification.

    I look forward to seeing your final project, and following your blog!

    Like

  4. Tyana,

    The first impression of your collage projects very strong visual images which can have the ability to pull at heart strings. I love the pictures and background you used. I think they work very well together. It also reflects your passionate about the subject matter.

    Here are some suggestions which you could consider for your final draft:

    1. As I said above, I love the pictures and background. I think you can get a more unified collage if you added very small amount of color to the background. You would not need much, just a little and I think it would look great.

    2. Second, I think if you coordinated the color of your text, it would be more powerful. They are slightly different and I think the flow of the collage could improve if they were the exact same color. This is something I wish I had done on my rough draft and I will address it on the final draft.

    Overall, fantastic start on the rough draft.

    Peter Gilmour

    Like

  5. Thanks everyone for your feedback! I have a lot to think about. The first thing that I want to do in my revision is make clear that the B.A.N.I. certification will be well-rounded, offering birth and postpartum doula certification. I’m not worried about defining what a doula is, since this is geared toward women who want to become certified doulas, and will already know what a doula does.

    There are a few things I want to accomplish in my final draft. I am going to focus on re-sizing my images so that they are the same size, and matching the space on all sides. As most of you mentioned, the balance of the text is off with the lower right corner being blank, and that had been bothering me as well. I will play around with placement to make that look better in my final draft. I am going to see if I can find any photos of doulas working that would fit well into my collage. That was mentioned more than once, so I will see what I can find. I am pretty happy with the photos that I am using, so if I don’t find anything else, I will be ok with that too. I will also play with the font colors and effects to make that more pleasing to the eye. I have been watching more Photoshop tutorials, and I am looking forward to playing with some of the effects to see what I can create.

    I also want to say that getting small group feedback is something that I really appreciate. I got my BA in Creative Writing, and worked in a workshop setting a lot. I realized doing this project that I have missed that collaboration. We all make each other stronger. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment